

INFORMATION DOCUMENT

IARU REGION 3

Conditions for the "Officers" of IARU Region 3: Coordinators, Committee Chairs, Convenor and Manager

Index

This document has the following major sections:

- 1. Introduction
- 2. Appointment and General Conditions

1. Introduction

IARU Region 3 has a number of "Officers" in addition to the Directors and the Secretary. These "Officers are responsible for "managing" the various specialist activities in IARU Region 3. Most of these activities and tasks are similar to those within the IARU, and in Regions 1 and 2.

This document describes their general conditions of appointment and support.

In summary, these positions are:

- (a) Coordinators: Monitoring System, Beacon, EMC and EMR
- (b) Committee Chairs: ARDF and Disaster Communications
- (c) Convenor: STARS*** Task Force
- (d) Manager: Region 3 Award

The positions have been historically set up over a period of time in IARU Region 3.

2. Appointment and General Conditions

The Coordinators (a) are directly elected or appointed at a triennial Regional Conference and are supported by Region 3 funding for their activities. They are responsible to the Member Societies and the Regional Conference. They may be invited to attend a Regional Conference at Region 3 cost when the Conference or the Directors decide that this is necessary (that is, if specific issues need to be discussed at the Conference). They work under the standard IARU Region 3 "Terms of Reference" (ToR) conditions, including annual reports to the Directors and triennial reports to each Regional Conference.

The other Officers, **Committee Chairs, Convenor and Manager (b), (c) and (d)** are provided and hosted by "volunteer" Member Societies. For these Officers their Member Society takes care to assist them with their work (helping the Officer lead the members of their group, assisting their operations and covering reasonable ongoing costs, etc.). These Officers report to the Directors' Meetings and via the Secretary and the Directors to the Regional Conference.



At present the "volunteer" Member Societies are:

(b) Committee Chain	rs: ARDF (JARL)
	Disaster Communications (WIA)
(c) Convenor:	STARS*** Task Force (JARL)
(d) Manager:	Region 3 Award (NZART)

Note: In the case of the Committee Chair of Disaster Communications (**b**), his work is mainly supported by WIA. However, some support (mainly travel cost) has been paid by Region 3 funding for special events.
